Step back in time and see how life was lived by early pioneer families. The authentic 1848 double log cabin with dog trot, is made of hand hewn oak. Built by William Blaylock, pioneer teacher, the cabin served as a home, school and, during the Civil War, a first aid station.
The cabin was donated to the Historical Society in 1993 by Reba Vineyard and her daughters, Suzi Francis and Sandra Blackstock, and moved from its original location on the western edge of the city to the historic district. It is furnished with period furnishings. The kitchen table and chairs once belonged to Gov. John Sebastian Little.